In association with





Brilliant From Birth (1998)
Audio CD
Track Listing

1. The battle of the blue and the grey
2. The three kisses of love
3. Timber
4. Take hold of that star
5. Peace of mind
6. Don't say goodbye
7. Claustrophobia
8. Could it be
9. Turn around, look at me
10. Theme from 'Jaimie McPheeters'
11. Every day I have to cry
12. You wouldn't know
13. Wine and women
14. Follow the wind
15. I was a lover, a leader of men
16. And the children laughing
17. I don't think it's funny
18. How love was true
19. To be or not to be
20. Cherry red
21. I want home
22. The end
23. Hallelujah I love her so
24. I love you because
25. Somewhere
26. The twelfth of never
27. You're the reason I'm living
28. You're nobody 'til somebody loves you
29. All by myself
30. Butterfly
31. Can't you see that she's mine
32. From me to you

1. Monday's rain
2. All of my life
3. Where are you
4. Playdown
5. Big chance
6. Glass house
7. How many birds
8. Second hand people
9. I don't know why I bother with myself
10. Jingle jangle
11. Tint of blue
12. Born a man
13. Spicks and Specks
14. I am the world
15. Daydream
16. Forever
17. Coalman
18. Exit, stage right
19. Paperback writer
20. I'll know what to do
21. In the morning
22. Like nobody else
23. Lonely winter
24. Lum-de-loo
25. Storm
26. Terrible way to treat your baby
27. Yesterday's gone
28. You won't see me
29. Top hat
30. Just one look
31. Ticket to ride.

by Nicholas James

In 1998, the Bee Gees were at one of the most successful phases of their career, with a string of hit albums and singles behind them, along with a large collection of awards on their mantelpiece. So the time was perfect for Festival Records, to whom the Bee Gees were signed between 1963 and 1966, to release the definitive collection of their early material.

Festival had a difficult job. Almost every year sees the release of another budget collection of the same old songs. This album takes a different approach. It is as complete a collection of their early work as there has been, beating the previous winner, Birth of Brilliance, also from Festival. Not only is this new collection comprehensive, the songs have all been remastered, and it is presented with an authoritative liner note.

This CD features many tracks never before released on CD, such as the Bee Gees first real political record, 'And the Children Laughing', which features extremely mature, savvy lyrics. It also features numerous covers, including great versions of 'Somewhere' and 'Twelfth of Never'.

For my views on this era, and on many of the songs featured, read my review of Birth of Brilliance. But don't buy that - come back here and buy this far superior collection. You will never need to buy another budget Bee Gees album again!

Why Buy Brilliant From Birth?

This is THE definitive collection of their pre-1967 material. You won't need to buy another early Bee Gees CD again.