In association with





Guilty 25th Anniversary Edition - Barbra Streisand (2005)
Audio CD
Track Listing

1. Guilty (duet with Barry Gibb)
2. Woman In Love
3. Run Wild
4. Promises
5. The Love Inside
6. What Kind Of Fool (duet with Barry Gibb)
7. Life Story
8. Never Give Up
9. Make It Like A Memory

1. Interview With Barbra And Barry
2. Live Concert Performance Of Guilty - Barbra and Barry
3. Live Concert Performance Of What Kind Of Fool - Barbra And Barry.
4. Photo Gallery
5. Excerpt of Stranger In A Strange Land - In-studio performance And 9 Songs In Enhanced LPCM Stereo

by Nicholas James

It almost seems odd now, looking back. The Bee Gees, one of the most creative, experimental pop-rock acts of the 1960s and 1970s, teaming up with a middle-of-the-road female vocalist in 1980. How could these seemingly opposing forces work together? Well, they did, and the results were fantastic.

The album was entirely written by Barry Gibb, with help from his brothers Robin and Maurice on some tracks and his co-producer Albhy Galuten on others. The album was also produced in its entirety by Barry Gibb with Albhy Galuten and Karl Richardson. Barry Gibb also provided backing vocals and acoustic guitar on most tracks. The production team had already had a warm-up for this album on the excellent After Dark album for Andy Gibb. But this was the album that brought the team to international prominence and would see a string of albums written and produced by the same team, making Barry Gibb one of the most successful - not to mention wealthiest - record producers in the world.

The album went to Number One, as did the single 'Woman In Love' a perfect ballad for Barbra's voice, with some seriously good hooks, and lyrics that the listener would never know were written by two blokes (Barry and Robin Gibb). Barry and Robin Gibb's 'Run Wild' is another beautiful MOR ballad, with a lovely sweeping melody. The two duets with Barry Gibb are also spot on. Barry and Barbra's voices are perfectly matched, with the two strong songs giving them both the chance to show off their immense vocal range and abilities. 'What Kind Of Fool' even allows Barry a little bit of falsetto singing! 'Life Story' and 'Make It Like A Memory' also really play to Barbra's strengths, sounding much like songs from stage musicals.

Don't expect this album to sound like a Bee Gees album. It rarely does; here Barry Gibb has clearly been inspired by this artist and the heritage that she brings with her. This album really showed the world that Barry Gibb was a record producer and composer of the highest quality. Overall, this album gave Barbra Streisand the best material she had recorded for many years, possibly for her entire career.

The DVD is also worth a look. Yes, they both look much younger in the 1986 performances of 'Guilty' and 'What Kind Of Fool', but they are truly exceptional performances. There is a real chemistry between these two stars. The interview with Barry Gibb and Barbra Streisand is a shortened version of the one featured on the Dual Disc version of Guilty Too, as is the video of 'Stranger In A Strange Land', one of the tracks from the new album.

Why Buy Guilty 25th Anniversary Edition?

To hear Barbra Streisand singing material of the highest quality, all written by the Bee Gees. The Barry Gibb duets are also pretty special.

This is a special 25th Anniversary edition of the album, featuring a DVD with an interview with Barry Gibb and Barbra Streisand plus live performances of 'Guilty' and 'What Kind Of Fool'. This is released to coincide with the new Barbra Streisand/Barry Gibb album, Guilty Too.