In association with





Maybe Someone Is Digging Underground - Various Artists (2004)
Audio CD
Track Listing

1. Spicks & Specks - The Status Quo
2. Top Hat - The Montanas
3. Butterfly - The Marmalade
4. The Storm - Family Dogg
5. Morning Of My Life - Cliff Aungier
6. New York Mining Disaster 1941 - Velvett Fogg
7. Every Christian Lionhearted Man Will Show You - Tangerine Peel
8. To Love Somebody - PP Arnold
9. Holiday - Oscar
10. Gilbert Green - Gerry Marsden
11. Town Of Tuxley Toymaker
12. Mrs Gillespie's Refrigerator - Sands
13. World - David Garrick & The Dandy
14. With The Sun In My Eyes - Schadel
15. And The Sun Will Shine - Paul Jones
16. Words - Cliff Aungier
17. Cowman Milk Your Cow - Adam Faith
18. The Singer Sang His Song - The Nomads
19. Maypole Mews - David Garrick
20. The Loner - The Bloomfields
21. Have You Heard The Word - The Futz
22. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart? - City Of Westminster String Band

by Nicholas James

Now this compilation is something really special. Those who have explored this website thoroughly will know that there have been numerous albums released featuring the many Bee Gees songs covered by other artists. Most of them have at least one or two songs that you can't get anywhere else, making them a worthwhile buy. However, this album is very different. For a start, it concentrates on the late 1960s/early 1970s, featuring artists from all musical styles singing versions of songs written by the Gibb brothers. But what makes it really special is that the compilers have done their homework.

Most of the tracks on this album you cannot find anywhere else, some being cover versions of obscure tracks by artists that have long since disappeared off the radar of most music listeners. And many of the tracks are songs written by Barry, Robin and/or Maurice Gibb that the Bee Gees themselves have not even recorded. So at least half the songs will be new to listeners. Most Bee Gees fans will not have heard Gibb songs like 'Top Hat', 'Gilbert Green', 'Town Of Tuxley Toymaker' and 'Mrs Gillespie's Refrigerator'.

I won't go into detail on each the tracks, as this is a real mixed bag which is impossible to summarise in just a few words. However, an outstanding feature of this album is the liner notes by David Wells, which fold out into a mini poster, giving details of each track, setting out the context, history and details of the featured recording.

This is a first class package, and even includes the legendary 'Have You Heard The Word?', by The Fut, which is actually Maurice Gibb and Lulu's brother, Bill Lawrie, but also supposedly features John Lennon and Paul McCartney. It has even been featured on Beatles bootleg albums! Well, now you will get your first chance to hear the song, which features fantastic lead vocals from Maurice Gibb, and the liner notes tell the full story...

This album is an absolute gem, and should be in every fan's collection.

Why Buy Maybe Someone Is Digging Underground?

I Can't Recommend this album enough - a well researched collection of little-known Gibb compositions. It is a fascinating journey into a largely unknown part of the Bee Gees fragmented world. A must for all fans.