In association with





The Titanic Requiem - Robin Gibb (2012)
Audio CD
Track Listing

1. Triumph (Shipbuilding)
2. Farewell (The Immigrant Song)
3. Maiden Voyage
4. New York Suite In C Major
5. Sub Astris (Under The Stars)
6. Kyrie
7. SOS (Tract)
8. Distress (Confutatis)
9. Salvation (Gradual)
10. Reflections
11. Daybreak-Mario Frangoulis
12. Christmas Day-Isabel Suckling
13. Libera Me
14. Dont Cry Alone-Robin Gibb
15. In Paradisum (Awakening)
by Nicholas James

Throughout the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s and early 2000s, Robin Gibb was one of the great musical innovators, working either alone of with his two brothers. He then went through a quiet patch between 2003 and 2011 when he released little of great musical interest, but then in 2012 he released his best album in many years, the Titanic Requiem.

Partly written in hospital whilst being treated for cancer, Robin has teamed up with his son, RJ, and produced a truly great classical album. Rock musicians have produced classical albums before, with mixed results, but Robin's deep understanding of the genre and the subject matter (the sinking of the Titanic) makes this a confident and beautifully composed work.

Performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the RSVP choir, the album starts with the building of the ship, through its maiden voyage, to the moment it strikes an iceberg, then its sinking and the rescue of around 700 people out of more than 2000 on board. The album is packed with haunting melodies, some uplifting, some downbeat, but all of them inspirational and passionately arranged. My personal favourites are New York Suite in C Major and Sub Astris (Under The Stars).

There are also three songs on the album, all written by Robin Gibb, and each of them is stunning in its own way. Daybreak, sung by Mario Frangoulis, is one of Robin's finest compositions, with a melody that you will be humming for days. In my view this is one of the best songs ever written. Christmas Day is sung to perfection by Isabel Suckling and Don't Cry Alone sees Robin Gibb himself return to lead vocal after a gap of several years - his voice sounds better than ever.

The album quickly became a big hit, and received some excellent reviews from specialist classical music critics, demonstrating Robin's immense talent and versatility. The work was premiered at a concert by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in London on 10 May, the day the Titanic left Southampton on its maiden voyage. Sadly Robin was unable to attend due to ill health. The event was superb, and this album (hopefully the first of many classical albums by Robin) will be remembered for many years to come.

Why Buy My Favourite Carols?

Robin's first ever classical album, with some killer songs too. Buy from Amazon