In association with





One Night Only (1998)
Audio CD
Track Listing

1. Intro - You Should Be Dancing/Alone
2. Massachusetts
3. To Love Somebody
4. Words
5. Closer Than Close
6. Islands In The Stream
7. Our Love (Don't Throw It All Away) featuring Andy Gibb
8. Night Fever/More Than A Woman
9. Lonely Days
10. New York Mining Disaster 1941
11. I Can't See Nobody
12. And The Sun Will Shine
13. Nights On Broadway
14. How Can You Mend A Broken Heart
15. Heartbreaker
16. Guilty
17. Immortality featuring Celine Dion
18. Tragedy
19. I Started A Joke
20. Grease
21. Jive Talkin'
22. How Deep Is Your Love
23. Stayin' Alive
24. You Should Be Dancing

by Nicholas James

Yet another hit album from a period when the Bee Gees could do no wrong. This was, believe it or not, only the second live album the Bee Gees had released (the first being Here At Last...Live in 1977). So it was certainly long overdue. And the absence of a greatest hits package for a number of years helped this album to become a surrogate 'Best Of' collection and one of the brothers' best selling CDs.

But it is far from perfect. It is such a shame that they did not release an album of their One For All Tour 1989 (which was much more adventurous in its choice of songs) or the electrifying High Civilization Tour 1991 (when the Bee Gees performed at their most energetic). The One Night Only tour saw the Bee Gees slow down a little (well, they were pushing 50!) and sing what was effectively an oldies collection. The tour was therefore backward-looking, rather than celebrating their new music, which was the purpose of their 1989 and 1991 tours and is when the Bee Gees are always at their best.

The album was recorded at the MGM Grand, Las Vegas. And, sadly, that is another weakness. That concert was made for an American audience, so (with the exception of three tracks from the last album, Still Waters (only two of which appear on this CD) it completely ignores everything the Bee Gees themselves had recorded since 1979! So there is no 'You Win Again', no 'Secret Love' and no 'For Whom The Bell Tolls'. It is basically a 1960s/1970s tour. It does, however, include Bee Gees versions of some post-1979 songs they had written for other artists, including 'Guilty' and 'Immortality'.

The only really adventurous moments on this album, where they steer off the Bee Gees standards, are really just gimmicks; for example, their version of Grease, or singing 'Immortality' with Celine Dion. Their performance of 'Our Love (Don't Throw It All Away)', as a tribute to Andy was a nice touch, though, and it was good to hear them sing 'Islands In The Stream' and 'Heartbreaker', which were both US hits for other artists.

As only their second live album, this is still a worthy buy, but I can't help but wonder how much better it would have been had they released their much more varied 1998 Wembley Stadium concert instead of the earlier Vegas concert.

Why Buy One Night Only?

It is one of only two Bee Gees live albums, the first for over 20 years!