In association with





Soul of the Bee Gees - Various Artists (1996)
Audio CD
Track Listing

1. How Can You Men A Broken Heart
2. Jive Talkin' - Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
3. Nights On Broadway - Candi Staton
4. How Deep Is Your Love - Portrait
5. Heartbreaker - Dionne Warwick
6. I've Gotta Get A Message To You - Percy Sledge
7. Give A Hand, Take A Hand - The Staple Singers
8. I Started A Joke - Richie Havens
9. Please Read Me - Nina Simone
10. Love So Right - Jerry Butler & Thelma Houston
11. If I Can't Have You - Yvonne Elliman
12. More Than A Woman - Tavares
13. Emotion - Samantha Sang
14. Toys - Robin Gibb

by Nicholas James

Another compilation of Bee Gees songs sung by other artists. Many of the songs are well-known (and, indeed, feature on the more recent Bee Gees Songbook). However, the twist here is that these are all soul songs, and they have slipped in a few very rare gems.

'I've Gotta Get A Message To You' by Percy Sledge, 'I Started A Joke' by Richie Havens, 'Please Read Me' by Nina Simone and 'Love So Right' by Jerry Butler & Thelma Houston are all tracks that are otherwise generally unavailable on CD. Several of the other tracks you are unlikely to have heard before.

The album also includes Robin Gibb's 'Toys', a slightly different mix from that featured on the Walls Have Eyes album.

Why Buy Soul of the Bee Gees?

For some very rare covers of famous Bee Gees songs by mainly black, soul artists. It also features Robin Gibb's 'Toys'.